Thousands of people from around the world visited the exhibition Uprising X 25! Many submitted proposals, and some 5000 people voted for their favourites via a website. In many cases, the articles proposed were inspired by existing legislation and practices already in use elsewhere in the world.

The following is an informal and unscientific summary of the results in 25 points, based on the themes that emerged, the votes cast, and the concerns expressed.

Intended to spark reflection, this community-based creation is a dynamic extension of the process begun by the exhibition.

Let’s keep the good work going!

Hugo Latulippe

The Legend of Tomorrow’s World

Delegates to major international organizations and assemblies, Elected officials at the federal, provincial, and municipal levels, Business leaders, opinion makers, community organizers, and heads of private and public organizations, Citizens of the world,

Let’s work together to begin the transition to a future world that reflects our hopes and dreams.

Let us give ourselves the tools we need to implement these 25 proposals over the next 10 years.

1.
Develop and implement a legislative framework to ensure the integrity of our ecosystems, as was recently done by Bolivians.

2.
Implement a complete ban on the extraction and use of petroleum and other fossil fuels, and promote the emergence of a zero emissions economy, specifically in the areas of transportation, heating, industrial production, and construction. (Sweden)

3.
Prohibit the factory farming of animals intended for human and animal consumption, and promote vegetarian eating through a national education strategy, from elementary school through university. (Bhutan)

4.
Guarantee universal access to natural environments and ecosystems by developing a network of national corridors based on the ancestral tradition of the Allemansträtten (northern Europe). Launch a reflection at the government level on the concept of private land ownership in the spirit of indigenous traditions in the Americas.

5.
Reallocate 90% of current military spending to our schools to ensure universal and free access to education, from elementary school through university, as the foundation of a modern and democratic society. (Iceland, Costa Rica)

6.
Integrate mediation and non-violent communication training into the school curriculum, starting in elementary school. (Vancouver)

7.
Develop a national strategy and a binding legal framework to better protect girls and women from both direct and systemic violence, and contribute to the implementation of an international strategy consistent with these goals.

8.
Compel public and private employers to provide women and men with equal pay in all economic sectors and job categories. (Norway)

9.
Develop a national strategy inspired by the South African model to embrace diversity in all its forms (including ethnic, linguistic, economic, social, sexual, and religious) as a fundamental value of a vibrant, modern society.

10.
Reform democracy through a series of in-depth reforms (such as the adoption of proportional voting) aimed at achieving more social diversity in representation at all levels of our political system. (Germany, Israel, Spain)

11.
Prohibit all forms of lobbying directed at elected officials in our parliaments and democratic institutions.

12.
Put an end to media concentration by prohibiting private monopolies and media domination by conglomerates.

13.
Establish a national public health strategy ensuring free and universal access to health education, to nutritious food free of GMOs, chemicals, and synthetic additives, to free sport infrastructures and activities, and to alternative health practices and medicines.

14.
Introduce a universal basic income to guarantee a minimum income for all. (Finland)

15.
Criminalize the use of any form of tax, judicial, or financial haven and implement a national strategy to crack down on tax evasion schemes. Help organize a coordinated international strategy to dismantle all forms of tax, judicial and financial havens worldwide.

16.
Organize an exit from neoliberalism (capitalism) by developing a binding legal framework for the rapid transition to an economy that is local, ecologically sustainable, fair, socialized, cooperative, and based on short supply chains.

17.
Ensure that all members of the LGBT community can fully enjoy all human rights and fundamental freedoms, including the right to immigration and emigration as well as freedom of movement.

18.
Cultivate a thriving arts and culture scene by devoting 5% of the national budget to artistic creation, and through the implementation of mechanisms and institutions ensuring access for all, from students in elementary schools to seniors in residences, to all forms of art throughout the country.

19.
Ensure that Indigenous peoples have the right to fully enjoy, both collectively and individually, all human rights and fundamental freedoms.

20.
Fully recognize the political, cultural, and economic rights of the First Nations, including the right to control the use (or conservation) of the natural resources on their ancestral lands.

21.
Put in place a legal framework compelling industry to dismantle polluting factory farms and enabling the reestablishment of small-scale, organic agriculture to guarantee the universal right to healthy food. Promote local buying, short supply chains, and access to land for small farmers through a new binding legal regime. Prohibit the production and importation of genetically modified organisms intended for consumption.

22.
Guarantee universal access to high-speed Internet. Update privacy legislation to criminalize the exchange of personal information between private companies, and also between private companies and government organizations.

23.
Develop a legal framework to promote the free movement of people and to restrict the movement of non-essential goods and items already produced locally.

24.
Cancel the public debt owed to Canada by southern countries, and contribute to international efforts aimed at putting an end to poverty and the supervision of southern countries by their northern creditors.

25.
Work with countries around the world to introduce international taxes on financial transactions, direct foreign investments, the consolidated profits of transnational corporations, weapons sales, and emissions-intensive activities, in order to create international funds dedicated to guaranteeing universal access to water, healthy food, healthcare, and education.

Des milliers de citoyens des quatre coins du monde ont visité l’exposition depuis son ouverture. Plusieurs d’entre eux ont proposé des articles que près de 5000 personnes ont cautionnés au moyen du site Web créé pour l’occasion. Souvent, ces propositions sont inspirées de lois ou de pratiques en vigueur ailleurs dans le monde.

Tenant à la fois compte de l’occurrence des thématiques, des votes et des préoccupations exprimées, je propose ici une synthèse libre, non scientifique, en 25 points.

Vouée à nourrir notre réflexion, cette création collective poursuit magnifiquement la démarche entamée avec l’exposition.

Que le travail continue !

Hugo Latulippe

La légende du monde futur

Délégués aux grandes organisations internationales, Élus fédéraux, provinciaux et municipaux, Chefs d’entreprise, leaders d’opinion, leaders communautaires, responsables et dirigeants d’organisations privées et publiques, Citoyennes, citoyens,

Donnons-nous pour objectif commun d’entamer une transition vers ce monde futur que nous appelons de nos vœux.

Donnons-nous les moyens d’opérationnaliser ces 25 chantiers dans les 10 années qui viennent.

1.
Inventer et instaurer un cadre légal contraignant qui garantira l’intégrité des écosystèmes par le droit, comme l’ont fait récemment les Boliviens.

2.
Opérationnaliser le bannissement complet de l’extraction et de l’usage du pétrole et des autres combustibles fossiles, et favoriser l’émergence d’une économie zéro émission, notamment en matière de déplacements, de chauffage, de production industrielle et de construction. (Suède)

3.
Proscrire l’élevage industriel d’animaux destinés à l’alimentation humaine et animale, et mettre de l’avant une stratégie nationale d’éducation au végétarisme, de l’école élémentaire à l’université. (Bhoutan)

4.
Garantir un accès universel à la nature et aux écosystèmes en développant un réseau de corridors sur le territoire national, fondé sur la tradition ancestrale de l’allemansträtten (Europe du nord). Entamer une réflexion d’État par rapport à la notion de propriété privée sur la terre dans l’esprit des traditions autochtones américaines.

5.
Investir 90 % des budgets actuellement alloués au secteur militaire dans nos écoles, afin de garantir le droit universel et gratuit à l’éducation, du primaire à l’université, comme fondement d’une société moderne et démocratique. (Islande, Costa Rica)

6.
Instaurer des cours de médiation, de communication non violente et de méditation dans le programme scolaire, dès l’école élémentaire. (Vancouver)

7.
Élaborer une stratégie nationale ainsi qu’un cadre légal strict visant à mieux protéger les filles et les femmes contre la violence directe ou systémique, et contribuer à la mise en œuvre d’une stratégie internationale conséquente.

8.
Contraindre les employeurs publics et privés à rémunérer les femmes autant que les hommes dans tous les secteurs d’activité et fonctions. (Norvège)

9.
Mettre au point une stratégie nationale inspirée de l’Afrique du Sud afin de valoriser la diversité (ethnique, linguistique, économique, sociale, sexuelle, religieuse, etc.) comme l’une des valeurs fondamentales qui font les sociétés riches et modernes.

10.
Réformer la démocratie par une série de réformes de fond (comme l’adoption d’un scrutin proportionnel) qui visera à augmenter la représentativité du peuple dans sa diversité à tous les paliers de notre système politique. (Allemagne, Israël, Espagne)

11.
Interdire toutes formes de lobbying auprès des élus dans nos parlements et institutions démocratiques.

12.
Mettre fin à la concentration des médias en interdisant les monopoles privés et la mainmise de conglomérats dans ce secteur.

13.
Établir une stratégie nationale de santé publique qui garantira un accès gratuit et universel à une éducation à la santé, à une alimentation saine et exempte d’OGM, de chimie et d’intrants synthétiques, à des infrastructures et activités sportives gratuites, ainsi qu’aux techniques et médecines alternatives.

14.
Instaurer une allocation universelle des revenus afin de garantir un revenu minimum pour tous. (Finlande)

15.
Criminaliser le recours à toutes formes de paradis fiscaux, judiciaires ou bancaires et mettre sur pied une stratégie nationale afin de débusquer tous les stratagèmes de contournement. Contribuer à organiser une stratégie internationale concertée afin de démanteler toutes formes de paradis fiscaux, judiciaires ou bancaires dans le monde.

16.
Organiser la sortie du néolibéralisme (capitalisme) en élaborant un cadre légal contraignant qui permettra la transition rapide vers une économie locale, écologique, équitable, socialisée, coopérative et favorisant les circuits courts.

17.
Garantir à toutes les déclinaisons du spectre LGBT la pleine jouissance de l’ensemble des droits et libertés fondamentales, notamment le droit à l’immigration et l’émigration ainsi que la libre circulation.

18.
Favoriser le foisonnement des arts et de la culture en allouant 5 % du budget national à la création ainsi qu’à la mise en place de mécanismes et institutions qui garantiront un accès universel à toutes les formes d’art sur l’ensemble du territoire, dès les premières années d’école et jusque dans les foyers pour personnes âgées.

19.
Garantir aux peuples autochtones le droit, à titre collectif et individuel, de jouir pleinement de l’ensemble des droits de l’homme et des libertés fondamentales.

20.
Reconnaître l’ensemble des droits politiques, culturels et économiques des premières nations, notamment le droit de contrôler l’exploitation (ou pas) des ressources naturelles de leur territoire ancestral.

21.
Mettre en place un cadre légal qui contraindra l’industrie à démanteler les fermes industrielles et polluantes et qui permettra de reconstruire une agriculture paysanne et biologique garantissant un droit universel à la saine alimentation. Favoriser l’achat local, les circuits courts et l’accès à la terre aux petits agriculteurs par un nouveau régime légal strict. Interdire la production et l’importation d’organismes génétiquement modifiés destinés à l’alimentation.

22.
Garantir un accès universel à Internet haute vitesse pour tous. Criminaliser la communication de renseignements personnels entre les sociétés privées ainsi qu’entre les sociétés privées et les organisations gouvernementales en modernisant la législation qui protège la vie privée.

23.
Élaborer un cadre légal qui favorisera la libre circulation des gens et qui restreindra considérablement la circulation des marchandises jugées non essentielles ou déjà produites localement.

24.
Annuler la dette publique des pays du Sud envers le Canada et contribuer internationalement à mettre un terme à la misère et la mise sous tutelle des États du Sud par les États du Nord.

25.
Collaborer avec les pays du monde à mettre en place des taxes internationales sur les transactions financières, sur les investissements directs à l’étranger, sur les bénéfices consolidés des transnationales, sur les ventes d’armes et sur les activités à fortes émissions de gaz à effet de serre, afin de constituer des fonds internationaux qui serviront à garantir l’accès universel à l’eau, à la saine alimentation, à la santé et à l’éducation.